The Architecture of St. Michael’s: English and Dutch Antecedents
Marblehead historian Samuel Roads stated that “The frame and all the materials used in the construction of the building were brought from England.” But not in the way Roads meant. Ed Nilsson, local architect with a keen interest in architectural history, co-chair of St. Michael’s Property Management Committee and a former Senior Warden of the church, speculates that the builders of St. Michael’s in 1714 were aware of the significance and meaning of the form that their religious building would take. This visual essay will explore possible 17th century English and Dutch antecedents of the church, one that is unique in American ecclesiastical architecture. It will also look at later 19th century modifications to the building that renewed the worship environment to the liturgical practices of the day.
St. Michael's Episcopal Church
Ed Nilsson is founder and principal of Nilsson + Siden Associates, Inc., Architects & Planners in Salem and serves on St. Michael’s Historic Church and Tercentenary Committees, the Marblehead Planning Board and the board of Historic Salem Inc. His architectural work includes the adaptive reuse of the Charlestown Naval Yard and the development of Crosby’s Marketplace in Marblehead. He will be presenting a paper titled “No Place Like Home–Huxtable’s Ranch House as Her Housing Ideal” at the April 2014 Annual Meeting of the Society of Architectural Historians, Austin, Texas.